Skip to content

Dear God, please stop the cookie from crumbling…

September 17, 2012

I have a chronic illness. This illness isn’t visible. This makes some people view it as a suspicious illness. Perhaps an imaginary illness. Perhaps I’m (gasp!) faking it.

Some of these people, when they eventually either get it that yes, I’m sick, or they actually don’t want to think about it, tell me they’ll pray for me.

Prayer – how to pretend to help while actually doing nothing.

Then there are those who assure me, completely seriously, apparently, that I’m sick ‘for a reason‘. They don’t know what that reason is, but they assure me that there is one and God knows what it is. And they think I’m imagining things?

I know the reason. It’s how the cookie crumbles.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment